Alternate Discipline Talents

Discussion on game mastering Earthdawn. May contain spoilers; caution is recommended!
TitledEel
Alternate Discipline Talents

Post by TitledEel » Mon Jan 20, 2020 5:24 am

So, as a preface, I've never GMed Earthdawn, and I only started playing it last year, but I have GMed a variety of campaigns and systems, and I have an idea that I think could work really well to help Talent training feel a little more flexible. This is somewhat inspired by the Talents of the D20 Star Wars SAGA edition game by WOTC, which I feel is a nice blending of class-based and class-less character advancement.

One issue I've had building characters in ED 4e is that the Discipline Talents for each Circle are not always great. I understand that the Discipline Talents are supposed to be central to each Discipline, but I don't think that's a good enough reason on it's own to so tightly restrict the player to that particular Talent at that particular Circle. I know that previous editions had optional alternatives for the Discipline Talents, swapping some with ones on the Talent Option list for that Discipline, and others for entirely new Talents, but that doesn't totally solve the issue I have.

My proposition, then, is an alternate system where the Discipline Talents for each Rank (Novice, Journeyman, etc) are put into that Rank's Talent Option pool along with the normal Talent Options. Then, a character can take up to two of those Talents in the expanded Talent Option pool at each Circle. If it matters which one is a Discipline Talent and which is just a Talent Option, the player could designate one or the other as such, but I don't think that matters much except for qualifying for next Circle.