spell matrices

Discussion on game mastering Earthdawn. May contain spoilers; caution is recommended!
Post Reply
kevsurp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:29 pm

spell matrices

Post by kevsurp » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:54 pm

reading 4th edition and notice a few spells that can be put in the same matrix with another spell.
so for example a 1st circle elementalist with 2 spell matrices could heve them like so
matrix 1: earth darts
matrix 2: purify earth and purify water
and be able to cast all 3 right?

is that how it suppose to work?

User avatar
etherial
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:04 pm
Location: Berlin, Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: spell matrices

Post by etherial » Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:21 pm

Yup! That is exactly how that works.

User avatar
Mataxes
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: The Great Library
Contact:

Re: spell matrices

Post by Mataxes » Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:24 pm

It's especially helpful for Illusioinists because they can now have both real and illusory versions of a spell in the same matrix, and decide from casting to casting which version to use -- instead of tying up 2 matrices with slightly different versions of the same spell.

This lets them play more with the idea that you're never sure whether the spell they're tossing at you is real or not.
Josh Harrison - josh@fasagames.com
Earthdawn Line Developer, Forum Admin

Personal Website: www.loremerchant.com

Lursi
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:09 pm
Location: Münster

Re: spell matrices

Post by Lursi » Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:54 am

Indeed a useful idea.

Something small to sell:
Cards on which each spell is summarized to be put on the table to indicate whats in your matrix.
Of all things I lost, sanity I held dearest.

Belenus
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:27 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: spell matrices

Post by Belenus » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:46 am

Mataxes wrote:
Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:24 pm
It's especially helpful for Illusioinists because they can now have both real and illusory versions of a spell in the same matrix, and decide from casting to casting which version to use -- instead of tying up 2 matrices with slightly different versions of the same spell.

This lets them play more with the idea that you're never sure whether the spell they're tossing at you is real or not.
Even so the illuionist only has one combination fitting this description, the (True) Ephemeral Bolt and bolt.
Guess the elementalist is the one benefitting the most of this new rule.

Tattered Rags
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:04 am

Re: spell matrices

Post by Tattered Rags » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:39 am

Belenus wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:46 am
Even so the illuionist only has one combination fitting this description, the (True) Ephemeral Bolt and bolt.
Guess the elementalist is the one benefitting the most of this new rule.
Illusory and True Missiles, too.

Also possible that Switch and True Switch should be allowed this, but the book doesn't say so.

I wonder if a multi-Disicplined Illusionist should be allowed to put spells and their phantom versions in the same matrix, or if that would be over-powered.
Adventure I'm running:
Under the Stars

Adventure GM post-mortem:
Under the Stars Postmortem

Belenus
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:27 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: spell matrices

Post by Belenus » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:57 am

Tattered Rags wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:39 am
Belenus wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:46 am
Even so the illuionist only has one combination fitting this description, the (True) Ephemeral Bolt and bolt.
Guess the elementalist is the one benefitting the most of this new rule.
Illusory and True Missiles, too.
Ah, right, never used those spells because of the 2 threads needed, I prefere Phantom Lightning over it.

Tattered Rags
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:04 am

Re: spell matrices

Post by Tattered Rags » Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:01 am

Tattered Rags wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:39 am
Also possible that Switch and True Switch should be allowed this, but the book doesn't say so.
These aren't instant damage spells, so nevermind, they wouldn't need to really be in the same matrix as they don't have the disbelieve problem.
Adventure I'm running:
Under the Stars

Adventure GM post-mortem:
Under the Stars Postmortem

Post Reply