Earthdawn on French TV

Discussion on playing Earthdawn. Experiences, stories, and questions related to being a player.
Marzhin
Earthdawn on French TV

Post by Marzhin » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:20 am

(Dear Moderator Adepts, feel free to move this post elsewhere if needed.)

Hi everyone,

I don't know if there are many French-speaking Earthdawn fans lurking around here (besides me, that is :p), but just in case...

I'm a video game designer/writer by day, but by night I work for a small indie TV channel called Nolife (yeah -- we're nerds and not ashamed of it), which for the last 10 years has dedicated itself to all aspects of "geek" culture, ranging from video games to anime and everything in-between. And of course we talk about pen-and-paper roleplaying games too.

Since October 30th, we've been airing a new show called Roleplay (yeah, it was originally only a placeholder name, but use these long enough and they tend to stick ^^).
It's essentially a roleplaying game session, but cut into episodes, seasons, with cliffhangers, etc. It's a bit experimental, I am not aware of any other show trying this on TV, but the reception has been really great so far.

Why I talk about it on this board is because we've been playing Earthdawn (with FASA Games' kind authorization) :)
More specifically, we play a mix of ED Classic (as it's the latest version of the game available in French) but in the timeline of ED4, and incorporating some of the new rules.

Our campaign tells the story of a group of four Adepts (T'skrang Swordmaster, Human Nethermancer, Dwarf Elementalist and Ork Beatsmaster) looking for their kaer. A Questor of Dis messed with their heads in order to sell them as slaves (removing their Names among other things), and now they travel across Barsaive looking for clues leading them back home. In the latest episode they made it to Kratas where they hope to find some leads, but mostly find trouble :)