Page 1 of 1

Rule of three

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:40 pm
by ChrisDDickey
Just started reading the rules for the first time and like what I see so far, but am disappointed to see the reappearance of the rule of three (I was glad it was dropped from the latest editions of Earthdawn).

The example on page 30 seems to say it is not just 3 bonuses and 3 penalties, but that you can only have a total of 3 bonuses and penalties. Do penalties crowd bonuses out?

From the example, lets say the character is wearing armor (penalty), has a special pair of boots that enhance his initiative, and is doing Tiger Spring. 3 modifications (one penalty and two bonuses) is fine, but it says they are not allowed to do anything that would give another bonus (such as chug a speed potion).
Lets say that during the first round of combat the character takes some wounds that would impose a wound penalty. Does that mean that the following round he is no longer allowed to Tiger Spring? Since that would then be a 4th modification (two penalties only leaves room for one bonus)?
Lets say that in addition somebody Battle Shouts the character. With 3 penalties, does that mean that the penalties squeeze out the bonus for the boots and those can no longer be counted?
What if conditions are such that a 4th penalty would be piled on. Must the character count the 3 biggest penalties (getting to drop the smallest penalty) but also having to drop all bonuses already applied to him, and being unable to receive any bonus?

It seems to make debuffs and wounds even more punitive if they actually crowd out buffs.

Re: Rule of three

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:43 pm
by Andrew1879
Penalties and bonuses are counted separately. Penalties do not crowd out bonuses. You are correct in that the three largest penalties apply. The player chooses which three bonuses apply to their character. The Rule of Three was kept for two reasons - one, to prevent powergaming, and two, because 1879 was developed from a version of CoreStep unbolted from Earthdawn before the current iteration of Earthdawn was finalized. This second reason has resulted in a lot of errata. Sorry about that.

Re: Rule of three

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:15 pm
by ChrisDDickey
Thank you.
Is there an errata to look at? All I found was a thread in the Product Discussion sub-forum that had 3 or 4 entries.

Re: Rule of three

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:23 pm
by Andrew1879
That's all we've got right now. I have a To Do item to create an Errata document and post it on the website.

Re: Rule of three

Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:32 pm
by Galeb_G4
Eh, makes sense, this way people have to rely on their game style and on luck instead of filling themselves to the brim with game-breaking accessories.
But yeah, the formulation in the original text of the rules can lead to confusion.